top of page
  • Laura, Library Director and Brooke

Laura & Brooke's Pick: My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing


TWO READERS, ONE BOOK! Two of our librarians loved Samantha Downing's My Lovely Wife so much, that they both reviewed it:

LAURA'S REVIEW

My Lovely Wife is Samantha Downing’s debut novel and it’s a great start to what should be an amazing career. This is one of those books that if you say too much about the plot beforehand it ruins the fun of the novel. As a husband and wife with two kids they seem like the typical average family. She is a successful real estate agent and he is a well-known tennis coach at a posh country club. But, they are bored and looking for some fun. It’s this fun that will have you looking at your neighbors a little differently, but this all-American normal family is so messed up!

The lies, the drama and then ultimately the betrayal makes this a fun read that fans of psychological thrillers will love! I loved the twists and turns and the satisfying conclusion.

Rating: *** Stars (I liked it!)

- Laura, Library Director

 

BROOKE'S REVIEW

“But why wouldn’t you tell me? For a year?”

“I wanted to surprise you,” she says. “For our anniversary.”

I stare at her. My lovely wife.

“It’s demented,” I say.

She raises an eyebrow at me. Before she can speak, I put my finger against her lips.

“And it’s brilliant,” I say.

Don’t judge, but Millicent and her husband (we only know him by his alias, Tobias) enjoy killing women in their free time. Or rather, they schedule their lives around their next murder, and everything else is just lagniappe. Millicent and Tobias appear to have the All-American family - a home in an enviable neighborhood, two great kids, and careers on the rise. No one would suspect their dirty, little secret. But when this couple throws a twist into their latest murder plot, this speeding train flies off the rails. Hold on because Samantha Downing’s My Lovely Wife is one wild ride.

If you like your characters twisted and your plots outrageous, you’re going to devour My Lovely Wife. This compelling suspense novel doesn’t shy away from being over-the-top and repulsive. The characters’ psychotic, no holds barred relationship will have you recoiling, but you also will not be able to look away. My Lovely Wife’s shining star comes in the form of the anonymous husband, who albeit crazy himself, will go to any lengths to please his even crazier wife. No, he doesn’t show he loves her with chocolates, or flowers, or jewelry ... he brings her blood. Ready for a head spin? Pick up this novel!

Rating: **** Stars

- Brooke, PR Librarian

 

ARE YOU AND THIS BOOK A GOOD MATCH? DISCOVER MORE WITH NOVELIST APPEALS! My Lovely Wife

GENRE: First Person Narratives; Psychological Suspense THEME: Suburban Malaise (Characters feeling alienated, bored, or otherwise disenchanted with life struggle to understand what went wrong in their quest for the American Dream); Unreliable Narrator (Readers may not be able to trust the version of events narrated to them in these complex & sometimes disturbing stories) TONE: Disturbing; Suspenseful;

PACE: Intensifying

CHARACTER: Twisted

IF YOU LIKE THIS BOOK, YOU MAY ALSO ENJOY THESE TITLES:


17 views
bottom of page