• Lafourche Parish Public Library

Brooke's Pick: Cover Story by Susan Rigetti


During a summer internship at a magazine, an aspiring writer strikes up a friendship with the contributing editor and enigmatic daughter of a clean-energy mogul, who convinces her to drop out of NYU and become her ghostwriter.


I am 100% completely blown away by Susan Rigetti's debut Cover Story! Why aren't more people talking about this fantastically compelling book? It needs to be in the hands of everyone because it is one finely crafted masterpiece. A perfect summer beach read, do yourself a favor and pick up a copy today!


Combining a series of diary entries, correspondence, and documents with propulsive narration, Cover Story tells the tale of Lora Ricci, a NYU drop out who takes a summer internship at ELLE magazine and meets an enigmatic heiress named Cat Wolff. After the summer is over, Cat takes Lora, who is struggling to find her footing after flunking out of college, under her wing and employs her as her ghost writer, inviting her to live with her at the glamorous Plaza hotel while the two compose a series of short stories that they hope to get picked up by a major publishing house. Lora's life now has infinite purpose and as she begins to realize her dreams, she also notices that something is not quite right with her new best friend, Cat. Lora can't help but feel that Cat is keeping secrets, but what does a simple girl like Lora know? Maybe an elusive life is the price you pay when you are as wealthy and well-connected as Cat is ... or rather, as Cat purports to be.


Cover Story is an insanely clever caper story complete with literal jaw-dropping twists. Rigetti has surely secured her place in the literary world for composing a tale that is not only inventive and original, but entirely readable and engaging as well. The book moves at a fast clip, and readers will find their heads spinning as they scramble to stay hot on Cat's trail as she pulls the wool over everyone's eyes ... even those reading this "hiding in plain sight" romp through the world of con artistry. Perfect for fans of Netflix's Inventing Anna, Cover Story is a book that you won't be able to stop talking about.


Availability: eBook in cloudLibrary

Rating: ***** Stars (I loved it) Reviewer: Brooke, Public Relations Librarian

 

ARE YOU AND THIS BOOK A GOOD MATCH?

DISCOVER MORE WITH NOVELIST APPEALS! Cover Story


GENRE: Thrillers & Suspense PACE: Fast-Paced TONE: Atmospheric WRITING STYLE: Engaging LOCATION: New York City SUBJECT: Deception; Elle; Female Friendship; Ghostwriting; Internships; New York University; Secrets; Swindlers & Swindling; Women Authors


IF YOU LIKE THIS BOOK, YOU MAY ALSO ENJOY THESE TITLES:




9 views