top of page
  • Writer's pictureLafourche Parish Public Library

Brooke's Pick: Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton



As a child of the 90s, I had the awe-inspiring experience of encountering the film Jurassic Park in my youth. The concept of bringing dinosaurs back to life from extinction struck both fear and amazement in me, and my love for this film has stuck with both me and my brother throughout our entire lives. I finally took the plunge and read the novel, and I am delighted to say that it is just as captivating as the award-winning movie.


Most people have seen the 1993 Jurassic Park film, but far fewer can say that they have read the book. If you enjoyed the movie, there is much to love within the pages of this novel. I listened to an audiobook production of this gripping tale, and it was great fun to observe the similarities and differences between the novel and the movie. Author Michael Crichton has said that only 10-20% of his novel made it into the film, and once you dive into this book of monstrous dinosaurs running amok in a proposed resort on a tropical island in Costa Rica, you will see that this is quite true. The book provides so much more backstory and detail, which adds to readers'/viewers' already established understanding of Jurassic Park. I loved reading the parts of the story that were already familiar to me, while also having my eyes opened to new events and elements.


Additionally, Crichton writes in a way that is both engaging and informative, without going overboard on the scientific and technical detail. No doubt, those details are spread throughout this story, but they are presented in such a way that the audience can understand them. I appreciated Crichton making his novel accessible to the general population in this way, and found myself looking forward to my commute each day so that I could dive further into this terrifying tale.


Jurassic Park is a must-read for anyone who loves the film, and should be considered by anyone who has a fascination with dinosaurs or who has ever dared to dream BIG.


Availability: Book; Book on CD; Playaway; eBook on cloudLibrary Rating: ***** Stars (I loved it) Reviewer: Brooke, Public Relations Librarian

 

ARE YOU AND THIS BOOK A GOOD MATCH? DISCOVER MORE WITH NOVELIST APPEALS! Jurassic Park


GENRE: Adult Books for Young Adults; Books to Movies; Science Fiction Classics; Science Fiction Thrillers THEME: Playing God (An experiment's safeguards aren't enough to prevent disaster in these tales of scientific overreach.) PACE: Fast-Paced

STORYLINE: Plot-Driven

WRITING STYLE: Compelling; Richly Detailed

TONE: Suspenseful; Thought-Provoking

LOCATION: Costa Rica

SUBJECT: Amusement Parks; Billionaires; Business Sabotage; Clones & Cloning; Dinosaurs; DNA; Eccentric Men; Genetic Engineering; Islands; Prehistoric Animals; Scientists


IF YOU LIKE THIS BOOK, YOU MAY ALSO ENJOY THESE TITLES:


8 views
bottom of page