top of page
  • Writer's pictureLafourche Parish Public Library

Brooke's Pick: The Good Sister by Sally Hepworth



I loved every bit of Sally Hepworth's new novel, The Good Sister! This is my first book of hers, but I plan on going through her backlist because she sure can tell and sell a story. I immediately found myself drawn into this intriguing, thought-provoking tale of the complicated relationship between twin sisters and the secrets they try to keep hidden.


Fern is afflicted with a sensory processing disorder, which causes her to stick like glue to her daily routine, while also shying away from bright lights and loud sounds. It also affects the relationships she forms with others and the way she understands and processes the conversations she has with the people in her life. However, she loves her job at her local library, and she adores and depends on her twin sister Rose. Rose is "her person," as Fern puts it. Without Rose, where would Fern be? Rose helps Fern with decision-making, assists her in making sense of the world around her, and protects her from people who may seek to harm her.


Fern loves her sister so much that she would do anything to see her happy, which is why she sets out on a mission to help Rose have a much-wanted baby. But little do the twins know that this one good deed will spawn a series of events that neither of them saw coming. When long-buried secrets threaten to be exposed and the sisters find that they can't keep their past with their sociopathic mother hidden any longer, the consequences are vast and life-changing.


Firstly, I want to say that I absolutely LOVED Hepworth's character of Fern! Fern is fascinating and had me completely intrigued as I turned the pages of this compelling novel. I would read an entire series about her life if one existed. I enjoyed learning how she sees and processes the world, was captivated by her interactions with others, and connected with her on her innermost thought and feelings. In fact, this novel of suspense reads as a book of general fiction until the latter third of the book. I forgot that I was reading a thriller because so much of the composition was spent on exposing readers to Fern's world and making them feel deeply for her character. I am here to say that this writing strategy works! When the twists and turns started happening, I wanted to protect Fern just like her sister Rose, and hoped that everything would work out for her in the end.


Furthermore, as a librarian, I appreciated the work Hepworth put into describing Fern's career at her local library. Hepworth brought the sights and the sounds of the library to life, and did an excellent job of making me feel as if I was at work alongside Fern every day. I loved Fern's passion for her job, and enjoyed how her work as a librarian helped develop the plot of The Good Sister. Additionally, Hepworth's novel further built my love for libraries, and made me greater appreciate the role they play in their communities.


Lastly, Hepworth works flashbacks from the sisters' past in the form of diary entries into The Good Sister, which slowly reveals the secrets the twins have kept hidden for so long. This is where much of the suspense of the novel comes into play, and readers will have great fun deducing who is really guilty here. These parts of the novel are multi-layered and more information is revealed as the novel progresses, making the suspense aspects of this book a slow, but gratifying, burn.


If you enjoy audiobooks and have the opportunity to listen to The Good Sister, I highly recommend the audiobook production featuring Barrie Kreinik as narrator. I loved the work Kreinik did as Fern, and felt myself completely absorbed in her narration. Her rhythm and pace were perfect, and her voice was believable in the characters she portrays. Thank you to Libro.fm for a complimentary copy of this audiobook!


In all, The Good Sister is one of my favorite books of 2021, and definitely worth a read by anyone who enjoys vibrant, unforgettable characters and a unique, intriguing storyline.


Availability: Book; eBook & eAudiobook in cloudLibrary Rating: ***** Stars (I loved it) Reviewer: Brooke, Public Relations Librarian

 

ARE YOU AND THIS BOOK A GOOD MATCH? DISCOVER MORE WITH NOVELIST APPEALS! The Good Sister


GENRE: Multiple Perspectives; Psychological Suspense

TONE: Creepy; Suspenseful

STORYLINE: Intricately Plotted

WRITING STYLE: Compelling

CHARACTER: Complex; Relatable

SUBJECT: Abusive Women; Death; Deception; Family Secrets; Infertility; Mothers & Daughters; Pregnancy; Psychic Trauma; Twin Sisters


IF YOU LIKE THIS BOOK, YOU MAY ALSO ENJOY THESE TITLES:



25 views

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page