top of page
  • Writer's pictureLafourche Parish Public Library

Brooke's Pick: The Little Book of Rest by Stephanie Thomas


If you're like me, you are one of those people who feels they cannot rest until they have maxed out their productivity for the day, squeezing every ounce of accomplishment out of the hours, and in fact, rarely resting because there is always more that you could be doing.


The Little Book of Rest was written for us.


I have made it a goal in 2023 to spend more of my time enjoying my time by making an effort to rest, relax, and take care of myself. Of course as a self-professed productivity addict, I need some help, which is where Stephanie Thomas' The Little Book of Rest comes in.


This pithy self-help volume details the importance of rest on our overall well-being, and gives specific activities to implement in your life to bring forth rest and relaxation. Broken down into four sections - physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual - The Little Book of Rest provides 100+ strategies designed to get you more rest.


Each of the suggestions in this book is backed up with information as to how implementing it into your life will manifest rest and relaxation, and even gives tips on where to find the resources needed or how to properly utilize them. Some of them are simple and are changes I am making in my life right away, such as switching out my evening coffee for chamomile tea and utilizing the scent of lavender in my bedroom before I go to sleep at night. Others may require a bit more time and effort on my part, but are likely to have a benefit, such as release writing to draw out all of my negative, anxious thoughts, or planning a vacation. I was also pleased to learn that I do in fact implement many of the strategies in this book already, such as watching sunrises and sunsets, spending time in nature, and playing and cuddling with my dogs.


The Little Book of Rest is recommended to anyone who is looking to slow down and breathe a bit more deeply in the new year; for those of us who are always on the go, but who never take the time to stop and just be.


- Brooke, Public Relations Librarian

7 views
bottom of page