• Lafourche Parish Public Library

Katie's Pick: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas


Dragged off to a treacherous magical land as retribution for killing a wolf, huntress Feyre learns that her captor is one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled her world.


After a patron recommended A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas, I decided to check out the first book in the series A Court of Thorns and Roses. The novel follows Feyre, a young woman whose family has fallen into ruin because of her father’s debts. Forced to move into a hovel of a house, Feyre takes it upon herself to provide for her family, lest they starve. She becomes a huntress, stalking the forest that borders the faerie realm with the mortal one. The faeries and humans coexist in an uneasy alliance—the humans carry a hatred for faeries, since they once cruelly ruled over humans.


On one hunt, she encounters a huge wolf. This wolf doesn’t seem like a normal wild animal. Feyre senses an intelligence behind its eyes, and surmises it could be from the faerie realm. Driven by hunger, and a deep-seated hatred of faeries, Feyre lets an arrow fly, killing the mighty beast. As it turns out, Feyre was correct; this beast wasn’t an ordinary wolf, but in fact a faerie in disguise. She must now answer to the faeries for her murderous crime.


Tamlin, a faerie of the Spring court, comes to collect her for her crime. Instead of killing her outright, as the treaty between humans and faeries states, Tamlin offers her an alternative; she must leave her family behind and spend the rest of her days in the dangerous faerie realm of Prythian. Feyre, at first, only has contempt for Tamlin and his ilk. However, as the novel progresses, she softens to him and his plight. The land of Prythian is plagued by a wicked darkness. Feyre decides she will vanquish this darkness to save the land of Prythian, lest it bleed into the mortal realm.


This isn’t a typical faerie romance novel. Feyre’s story is an adventure of survival, love, loss, and personal growth. I was completely enraptured with this novel. Sarah J. Maas is an incredible world builder. A Court of Thorns and Roses is an action-packed, immersive fantastical adventure. The chemistry between the characters is darkly thrilling, making A Court of Thorns and Roses a tantalizing read. Fans of The Hunger Games, Beauty and the Beast, and The Masks of Under will find Sarah J. Maas’ book a hypnotically-dazzling read.


Availability: Book; eBook in cloudLibrary; Playaway

Rating: **** 1/2 stars (I really liked it)

Reviewer: Katie, Reference Librarian

 

ARE YOU AND THIS BOOK A GOOD MATCH?

DISCOVER MORE WITH NOVELIST APPEALS! A Court of Thorns and Roses


GENRE: Fantasy Fiction; High Fantasy

THEME: Court Intrigue (What's better than power? More power. In the halls of the mighty, any cup might be poisoned and any friend may be foe.); Faerie Realm (The land of the immortal fae, other and apart from the human world, is a setting in these tales, though the heroes might not cross over into it. )

TONE: Steamy

STORYLINE: Action-Packed

CHARACTER: Well-Developed

SUBJECT: Curses; Fairies; Imaginary Places; Love; Magic; Shapeshifting; Young Women


IF YOU LIKE THIS BOOK, YOU MAY ALSO ENJOY THESE TITLES:


8 views