top of page
  • Writer's pictureLafourche Parish Public Library

Brooke's Pick: Five Total Strangers by Natalie D. Richards


Desperate to reach her grieving mother, Mira joins a group of college students driving home after their flight is stranded, but the road conditions are not the only mortal danger they face.


I was a little apprehensive going into Natalie D. Richards' new YA novel Five Total Strangers due to the novel's average ratings on Goodreads. There are so many books out there to read and I don't want to waste my time on anything that is not good. However, as I made my way through this book about five young adults attempting to travel home on blizzard-struck highways, I kept asking myself, why don't people like this novel?! I found myself entertained throughout Five Total Strangers (a #1 reading priority for me) and despite a few loose ends (which is why I think readers scored the book down), I still thoroughly enjoyed the reading experience.


Mira is traveling home to Pennsylvania when her layover flight is grounded due to a blizzard. Desperate to get home, Mira accepts a ride from her posh seatmate and three other college kids instead of waiting it out in safety until the danger passes. However, Mira is soon to discover that the blizzard isn't the only danger lurking. These five total strangers are about to embark on a perilous journey that will take them down hazardous highways and put them in the path of questionable characters. But what if the real peril is something they never suspected?


First of all, I must confess that I love "road trip" novels. Frankly, any story that takes place on transportation grabs my attention, not to mention those that include a survival element. So, Five Total Strangers was right up my alley! I felt like the sixth passenger inside this car, traveling with Mira and her new-found friends. Having never experience a blizzard myself, I was terrified to discover what obstacles the group would encounter next. And that's not to mention the storm that is brewing inside the SUV ... because the snow outside isn't the only danger in this thrilling YA novel.


I think that Five Total Strangers' intended audience - teens - will love this book and won't mind the plot holes. I personally wasn't bothered by the plot holes myself, but I know that they irked some readers. Adult readers who do not need everything tied up for them will also like this book if they enjoyed Riley Sager's Survive the Night or Taylor Adams' No Exit. Also, the novel takes place right before Christmas, so anyone looking for a holiday read that is NOT all merry and bright should check out this one!


Availability: Book; eBook in cloudLibrary

Rating: **** Stars (I really liked it) Reviewer: Brooke, Public Relations Librarian


ARE YOU AND THIS BOOK A GOOD MATCH? DISCOVER MORE WITH NOVELIST APPEALS! Five Total Strangers


GENRE: Thrillers & Suspense

TONE: Suspenseful CHARACTER: Strong Female SUBJECT: Automobile Travel; Blizzards; College Students; Stalkers; Stalking; Strangers; Women College Students


IF YOU LIKE THIS BOOK, YOU MAY ALSO ENJOY THESE TITLES:



10 views
bottom of page