• Lafourche Parish Public Library

Catherine's Pick: The Atlas Six by Olivie Blake


Chosen to compete for five spots within The Alexandrian Society, the protectors and benefactors of the world's greatest source of knowledge, six powerful, young magicians must decide how much they are willing to sacrifice to win one of the coveted spots.


In The Atlas Six by Olivie Blake, the Alexandrian Society has been care taking the world’s otherwise lost knowledge for centuries. Every ten years, the society picks six of the most talented magic users on the planet, called medeians in the world of the novel, to spend a year diving deeper into their magic and the laws of reality than they ever have before. Five of them will join the society and, through it, gain access to enough potential political and economic power to shape the world as they see fit. As for what happens to the sixth person… That may be the real test.


The Atlas Six is a puzzle box of a novel and the first act of a grander story. The main characters are richly realized through a point-of-view that shifts between them each chapter. With an atmospheric, dark academia setting and a plot that shifts between action and philosophical discussions, both told in an equally compelling style, it is a great read for those who like adventures that give them ideas to chew on. It is a good choice for fans of Seanan McGuire and Erin Morgenstern. The sequel, The Atlas Paradox, is due to hit shelves in October of this year. The chess game is only going to get more complex from here.


Availability: Book; eBook in cloudLibrary Rating: **** Stars (I really liked it) Reviewer: Catherine, Cataloging Librarian

 

ARE YOU AND THIS BOOK A GOOD MATCH?

DISCOVER MORE WITH NOVELIST APPEALS!

The Atlas Six


GENRE: Urban Fantasy

SERIES: Atlas #1

TONE: Atmospheric

STORYLINE: Action-Packed

WRITING STYLE: Compelling

CHARACTER: Flawed; Well-Developed

SUBJECT: Archives; Competition; Death; Initiation Rites; Knowledge; Life; Magic; Magicians; Scholars & Academics; Secret Societies; Space & Time; Survival; Thought & Thinking


IF YOU LIKE THIS BOOK, YOU MAY ALSO ENJOY THESE TITLES:


14 views